Ohio Valley Speedway

  • 1
Friday Night Lights

Friday Night Lights

Friday Night Lights brought to you by Jan Dils Attorneys at Law

Chris Myers Scores Victory in Inaugural Pete Smith Memorial at Ohio Valley Speedway


Ohio Valley Speedway

Chris Myers Scores Victory in Inaugural Pete Smith Memorial at Ohio Valley Speedway

A picturesque Friday evening would welcome race fans to the Ohio Valley Speedway for the Inaugural running of the Pete Smith Memorial presented by Briscoe Run Land Surveying featuring the OVSCA Sprint Cars. A fantastic night of racing action would be in store as a great crowd would jam into the Lubeck, WV speedway as over 100 race teams would take to the track. Picking up wins on the night included Chris Myers, Freddy Carpenter, Cruz Vandall, Jacob Hughes, Logan Perine and James Bailey.

In the evenings main event, in memory of the late Pete Smith a very appreciative crowd would welcome 22 of the regions best open wheel sprinters to the Ohio Valley Speedway. Caldwell, Ohio’s Chris Myers would vault from his 4th starting spot to blast around the awesome Ohio Valley racing surface and set a blistering pace. Behind the leader was a game Ryan Broughton and a hard charging Kory Crabtree who would thrill fans with his rim riding and wall scraping performance as the driver of the 11c would march from his 7th starting spot and into contention. A late race caution would reel the leader Myers back in and with one last restart Broughton would utilize a slide job to capture the race lead but Myers would return the favor and once again take the point as the duo exchanged sliders. With tremendous racing action high and low all thru the field, Myers would go onto capture the Inaugural Pete Smith Memorial aboard the Pine Tree Towing/ Kear’s Speed Shop/ Wayne County Speedway/ Valley View Cabins/ Bazell Oil Maxim #25. Rounding out the top five was Kory Crabtree grabbing second with a tremendous wall scraping run followed by a racey Ryan Broughton, Lance Webb and RJ Jacobs. In a very cool twist, Chris Myers father Ronnie Myers was a former driver of one of Pete Smith’s cars over the years and the duo bagged several track championships together. Andrew Palker would almost set a NTR in qualifying with heat race wins going to Andre Layfield, Kory Crabtree and Chris Myers. Special thanks to Darren Griffith and Valerie Myers of Briscoe Run Land Surveying, Dr. Kelly Wilfong of Wilfong Dental, Douglass & Company Real Estate Team LLC, Pine Tree Towing and Recovery, David Goudy of Safelite Autoglass and J&M Tree Service for help supporting the event.

The fastest ponytail in motorsports, ‘Fast’ Freddy Carpenter would bag his second win of the season in the Las Trancas Super Late Model division at the Ohio Valley Speedway on Friday Night. Carpenter would wheel his Kryptonite machine around the speedway’s top shelf to an impressive victory ahead of Colten Burdette, Corey Conley, Tyler Stutler and Ronnie Mayle.

A season for the ages is what Coleman Evans is putting together as the likeable Mineral Wells, WV chauffer would pick up his sixth win of the season in the UMP Modified division at the ‘Valley’. The driver of the 17c would notch his 3rd win in a row and continue to grow his point lead. Evans would park his Evans Construction Lethal Chassis back on the frontstretch ahead of Chad Roush, Jason Brookover, Robin Ours and Jim Ruckman.

Cruz Vandall would take the win in the Pike Street Lanes Sportmod main event as the talented driver of the double zero machine would pick up his second win of the season. Following Vandall across the stripe was current point leader Toby Wilson, Scott Alden, Pat Garrett and Curt Reck.

Jacob Hughes continues his stranglehold on the Ohio Valley Speedway 4 Cylinder Victory Lane as the Marietta, Ohio racer would grab his 3 win in a row and 4 of 5. Hughes would be followed to the pay window by Jacob McDaniel for the second week in a row, current point leader Sam Dickel, Mike Tennant and Kasey Rankin just edging Dad out at the line to secure a top five.

In the Youth League of Auto Racing it was once again Logan Perine taking the win ahead of Walker Slayton and Farrah Bailey in the Mike’s Auto Body WRA Young Guns division. James Bailey would star in the Veteran class by grabbing the checkers ahead of Stephen Sutler and Isaac McLeish.

The Ohio Valley Speedway will take this Friday Night, August 6th off, as the West Virginia Motor Speedway will present the World Race of Champions weekend but will be back in action on Friday Night, August 13th for a special Driver Appreciation/ Halloween ‘Friday the 13th’ themed evening at the Valley!

Ohio Valley Speedway, Feature Results, Friday Night, July 30th

OVSCA Sprint Pete Smith Memorial: Chris Myers, Kory Crabtree, Ryan Broughton, Lance Webb, RJ Jacobs, Josh Davis, Wayne McPeek, Tyler Street, Andrew Palker, Jason Dolick, Keith Baxter, Wes McGlumphy, Bradley Howard,, Dave Dickson, Eric Martin, Ben Webb, Greg Mitchell, Joe Adorjan, Jamie Myers, Andre Layfield, Daniel Burkhart, Chris Garnes

Las Trancas Super Late Model Feature: Freddy Carpenter, Colten Burdette, Corey Conley, Tyler Stutler, Ronnie Mayle, Ed Shuman, Travis Brown, Robbie Bostic, Greg Mitchell, Kevin Smith, Josh Tonkin, Corey Galbreath, George Klintworth, Zach Hill, Adam Tonkin, Joe Bowie, Ryan Cline

UMP Modified Feature: Coleman Evans, Chad Roush, Jason Brookover, Robin Ours, Jim Ruckman, Kenny Johnson, KC Burdette, Brandon Oliver, Terry Parsons

Pike Street Lanes Sportmod Feature: Cruz Vandall, Toby Wilson, Scott Alden, Pat Garrett, Curt Reck, Scott Robinson, Montana Legg, Marcus Cohert, TJ Arnold, Dana Rhyne, Dawson Newell, Jayson Spaur, Roger Arix, Tommy Powell, Ted Keiser, Ron Pickens, DQ Nathan Drake, Eric Foster, DNS Josh Spaur, Jesse Metz

Bill’s Auto Salvage 4 Cylinder Feature: Jacob Hughes, Jacob McDaniel, Sam Dickel, Mike Tennant, Kasey Rankin, Jeff Rankin, James Piggott, Mason Wolfe, Ted Dille DNS Steven Edwards, Derek Rose, Levi Heckert, Bryce Bowling, Justin Carpenter, Jarrod Heiss

Mike’s Auto Body WRA Young Guns Feature: Logan Perine, Walker Slayton, Farrah Bailey, Lane Pomas, Ryder Parsons, Bryson Long, Brandon Davidson, Emalee Conrad, Adley Green, Eason Mayle, Joey Miller (Trophies by Jack Vaughn Livestock Trucking)

Mike’s Auto Body WRA Veteran Feature: James Bailey, Stephen Sutler, Isaac McLeish, Tyler Ritchea, Avie Sprouse, Preston Heckert, Tanner Ritchea (Trophies by Jack Vaughn Livestock Trucking)

Submitted By: Dan Patterson

Article Media

Back to News
Bullring Boosters Club

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Opening Night Super Late Model Feature 4/16/21
Bills Auto Salvage
Briscoe Run
Camden Ave Tires
Emily Allman State Farm
Evans Construction
Greenleaf Landscaping
Haessly Hardwood
Hometown Payment Solutions
Jan Dills
Kapple Automotive
Las Trancus
Mikes Auto Body
Mister Bee
Parkersburg WVU
Pike Street Lanes
Polymar Services
Schilling Truss
Southeastern Equipment Company
Train Gang